Guest Mode vs Incognito Mode in Google Chrome: What’s the Difference?

Guest Mode vs Incognito Mode in Google Chrome: What's the Difference?

Any of us considers everything that he does on the Internet to be his own business. This is why browsers help keep your browsing private. Google Chrome is no exception, which has several tools for solving this problem at once. Users most often use two features of this browser: incognito mode and guest mode… True, how they differ, not everyone knows.

In this article, we will briefly cover guest mode and incognito mode in Google Chrome, including a description of their capabilities. This will help you understand when and which mode is best to use.

What is incognito mode in Google Chrome browser?

How to enable eternal incognito mode in Google Chrome on Windows

Incognito mode can be called private browsing in other browsers (in Safari on Mac, for example, Private window). This feature has been around for many years. In this mode, you can browse the web without Google Chrome saving any of your session information. As soon as you close the created incognito window, all session information will also disappear.

This means Chrome will not save any browsing history, cookies, or form data created in an incognito window. The browser also blocks the function of reopening closed tabs using the combination Ctrl + Shift + T and disables extensions (but you can enable them manually).

Starting an incognito session actually opens a new browser window that has never been online before. Since there are no cookies, you cannot automatically login to any sites, and none of them are configured for you.

This mode can be used in different cases:

  • Log in to one of your accounts on a friend’s computer without forcing him to log out of his account in the same service.
  • See how the web page will look to unauthorized visitors.
  • Check if one of your installed extensions is interfering with the website.
  • Bypass page view restrictions.

While this is incredibly useful, keep in mind that you are not invisible in private browsing mode. Websites can still identify you, and incognito does not hide your Internet activity from your ISP or a network administrator. To increase your privacy in these aspects, you will have to connect to a VPN service.

To open a new incognito window, open the three-dot menu and select “New incognito window“Or press the key combination Ctrl + Shift + N (на Mac: Shift (⇧) + Command (⌘) + N ).

What is Guest Mode in Chrome?

Guest mode is a separate feature from incognito mode. Chrome has a feature to switch profiles. With its help, you can create a new blank profile for those who temporarily use this browser.

Like incognito mode, guest mode does not save browsing history and all extensions are disabled by default. However, in guest mode, the user also cannot see or change any of the Chrome settings (other than the default search engine). The guest user is denied access to the main profiles: he cannot see their history of visited pages, bookmarks or downloads.

Guest mode is most useful when you’re browsing a browser on someone else’s computer, letting someone else use yours, or working on a public machine.

To open a new guest window, click the profile switch in the upper right corner of Chrome, which shows the current profile picture. Click “the guest” In chapter “Other users»To start a new guest session.

What is Guest Mode in Chrome?

What is Guest Mode in Chrome?

Differences between incognito and guest mode in Google Chrome

As you can see, incognito and guest mode in Google Chrome are very similar. But guest mode is not the same as incognito mode, so how do you decide which and when to use?

Both modes are suitable if you want to remove all traces of your browsing when you close the window. However, incognito is primarily intended for use on your own computer, while guest mode is more suited for use on someone else’s computer.

Incognito mode allows the primary Chrome user to browse the web without keeping a browsing history, while guest mode allows another user to use the browser without accessing the primary user’s information. Both modes prevent any session information from being saved.